Jolibe Designer Feature now live on modaCYCLE.com

I was first introduced to Jolibe was about a year ago at New York Fashion Week when I was sent to photograph the CFDA (Council of Fashion Designers of America) open house/designer presentations. I was so impressed by that collection, it’s fluidity and sophistication, and effortlessness.  I was instantly hooked.  And as it turns out so was my managing editor Seth Friedermann, who already had a longstanding fashion crush on the line and it’s designers Joel Diaz and Christina LaPenz.  After that initial show we talked about the presentation and agreed on a mutual desire to do something more with them in the future.   It took roughly a year of emails and scheduling issues, but the chance finally came to do a designer feature and we lept at it.  When I first saw the Fall 2011 collection during the presentation I wasn’t quite sure what I was looking at at the time.  The presentation did not contain the entire collection and I have to admit that back in February it did not have the same effect on me as the previous collection.  It turns out that I could not have been more wrong.  When the day of the shoot came and Seth and I did our usual pre-shoot walk through of the clothes and the styling direction I was able to really examine the clothes for the first time.  And they are exquisite.  The weight and feel of the fabrics, the quality of the construction, all the details and life of the line require contact, this is not a line that is made to look good on the hanger, this is a line that wants to be worn, to move and to come to life.

Claire Marshall was my hair and makeup artist/therapist/enabler of change/DJ on this shoot, and our model is the lovely Lara from Fenton Moon.  Lara has a physicality that I had not seen in other younger models, and she seemed to transform into different characters with each outfit change and the music, she seemed to channel something beyond herself, which was a fascinating experience, watching the character evolve and shift in front of me.  Seth met up with Joel and Christina to discuss the future of the label and his fantastic interview as well as the full editorial can be found on modaCYCLE.com.

Leave a Reply

